In classical times, the 7 wonders of the world were the artistic and historical architectural works considered most important by the Greeks and Romans. The “canonical” list included such majestic works as the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Pyramid of Giza.
On the occasion of the Sydney Olympics in 2000, the New Open World Corporation (NOWC) launched an internet referendum to establish, after about 2,400 years, what were the new wonders of the world (or wonders of the modern world). The initiative was a huge success and after various skimmings and selections, the finalists were crowned seven years later, precisely on 7/07/07.
Even the only one of the “old” ones reached the finalGreat Pyramid of Giza , which was however excluded from the competition and elected “Honorary Wonder”. Which were, therefore, the 7 finalists and winners
Here are the Wonders of the Modern World!

1 – Great Wall of China, China

  • Typology : Architectural asset
  • Period of realization : 215 BC
  • UNESCO recognition : Property protected since 1987

Built in 215 BC, it had the task of defending the Chinese territory from the invasions of the Mongols ; failed attempt, given that the numerous gates present along the perimeter constituted too weak points strategically.
It measures 8,851.8 km, although according to recent estimates the real length would be 21,196.18 km.
It has been a Unesco World Heritage Site since 1987.

2 – Petra, Jordan

  • Typology : Cultural Property – Archaeological Site
  • When it was built : The first settlements date back to the period between the end of the eighth and the beginning of the seventh century BC, the oldest monuments date back to 30 BC
  • UNESCO recognition : Property protected since 1985

It is an archaeological site, a Unesco World Heritage Site since 1985, with numerous facades carved into the rock corresponding to tombs.
Its unique and particular charm has also attracted directors who have chosen Petra as a set for some adventure and science fiction films, such as Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, or Trasformers – Revenge of the Fallen.
From the eastern entrance you can live a mystical experience, crossing a deep crack in the rocks (the Siq) until you reach a large clearing that houses the so-called ” Treasure of the Pharaoh “, with a facade totally engraved on the rock.

SEE ALSO : Visit to Petra, Jordan: how to get there, prices and tips

3 – Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro

  • Typology : Cultural Property – Statue
  • When it was made : 1931
  • UNESCO recognition : –

On top of Mount Corcovado , 700 meters above sea level, it is one of the most famous representations of Jesus Christ and symbol of the city.
Inaugurated quite recently, in 1931, the statue is 38 meters high (8 the base alone), and is accessible via a railway line or, for the more daring, climbing 222 steps .

4 – Machu Picchu, Cusco – Peru

  • Typology : Mixed – Archaeological site
  • When was it built : Approximately 15th century
  • UNESCO recognition : Property protected since 1983

The Lost City, one of the most mysterious places in the world , owned and created by one of the most enigmatic civilizations: the Incas.
Literally the “Old Mountain”, it seems to have been built as the summer residence of the emperor Pachacutec in 1440.
The Inca Trail, the Sun Gate, the Temple of the Moon, sacred and mystical places, panoramas to roll your eyes: if it is not a wonder of the world this …!

SEE ALSO : Machu Picchu: what to see, when to go and how to visit

5 – Chichen Itza, Yucatan – Mexico

  • Typology : Cultural Property – Archaeological Site
  • When was it built : between the 6th and 11th centuries
  • UNESCO recognition : Property protected since 1988

If you thought Machu Picchu was mysterious … then welcome to the land of the Maya !
Chichen Itza is an archaeological complex covering an area of ​​3 square km. Literally “at the mouth of the well of the Itza”, the latter are an ethnic group whose name means “Sorcerers of the water”.

The flagship is certainly the Pyramid of Kukulcan , commonly called “El Castillo”: here, during the spring and autumn equinoxes, a play of light at sunset casts a shadow in the shape of a feathered snake along the north staircase : who is the feathered serpent
Just Kukulkcan!

SEE ALSO : Chichen Itza, Mexico: where it is, when to go and what to see

6 – Colosseum, Rome – Italy

  • Typology : Cultural Property
  • When it was built : 72 AD (construction) – 80 AD (inauguration)
  • UNESCO recognition : Property protected since 1980

Welcome to Italy! The Bel Paese could not be missing, the nation with the highest concentration of wonders and works of art. The Colosseum in fact acts as a representative of Italy, and in the eyes of foreigners it is one of the most famous and recognized symbols.
The Colosseum, or Flavian Amphitheater, is the largest amphitheater in the world, with a capacity of 50,000 spectators.
Built between 72 and 80 BC, it was used for various kinds of shows: Munera, fights between gladiators, Venationes, fights between animals, Noxii, execution of condemned by animals or other kinds.

SEE ALSO : Visit to the Colosseum – how to get there, prices and advice

7 – Taj Mahal, Agra – India

  • Typology : Architectural – Funerary
  • When it was built : The works began in 1632 and ended in 1654 (22 years)
  • UNESCO Recognitions : Property protected since 1983

It is a mausoleum built by the emperor for his favorite wife.
Beyond the impressive architectural and creative beauty, its extraordinary nature also lies in a particular aspect: in fact it always appears different according to the hours of the day: the play of light created by the marble that covers it entirely, together with the precious stones. embedded in it, they cover it with a pink, white or golden light, particularly suggestive especially at dawn or dusk.
The perfect symmetryof the construction makes it almost surreal: it is even said that the emperor, upon completion of the work, cut off the hands of the workers and beheaded the designer so that the beauty of the Taj Mahal would never be equal in the world.

The other finalists …
Below are the other wonders that reached the final but excluded from the “magnificent 7”.
Monument Location Year of construction Pyramids of Giza Egypt 25th century BC
Acropolis of Athens Athens – Greece 447 BC
Alhambra Granada – Spain 1333
Angkor Wat Angkor – Cambodia 1113
Moai Easter Island – Chile 1250
Tour Eiffel Paris – France 1887
Hagia Sophia Istanbul – Turkey 537
Kiyomizu-dera Temple Kyoto – Japan 1633
Red Square Moscow – Russia 1561
Neuschwanstein Castle Fussen – Germany 1869
Statue of Liberty New York – United States 1886
Stonehenge Amesbury – United Kingdom 2400 BC
Sidney Opera House Sydney – Australia 1959
Timbuktu Timbuktu – Mali 1327

Pictures of the other finalists
Pyramids of Giza
Acropolis Athens
Angkor wat
Tour Eiffel
Hagia Sophia
Kiyomizu Dera Temple
Red Square Moscow
Neuschwanstein Castle
Statue of Liberty
Opera House Sydney

Previous articleHair at 30: cuts, colors, products and ideas
Next articleI’ll tell you why it’s so nice to be a dog